Are you gluten-intolerant? If so, you're probably familiar with a wrecked intestinal tract, headaches, brain fog, and skin rashes. These are only some of the unwelcomed side effects you probably experience when you accidentally eat gluten (aka getting "glutened").
Whether you have celiac disease, an allergy, eosinophil esophagitis, inflammatory bowel disease, or some other reason for avoiding gluten, the way you feel after eating it accidentally is, well, straight up not a good time.
And if you're newer to the gluten-free life and aren't yet a pro at reading ingredients and finding hidden sources of gluten (don't worry, you'll get there!), you may feel like it's tough to tell whether your favorite products are safe to eat.
It's a bit more obvious to check labels for wheat, barley, and rye, but are you familiar with the less obvious, hidden gluten in many foods?
Where to Find Hidden Gluten
Let's break down some of the sneaky sources of gluten so you know what to avoid from here on out.
Beverages
- Beer and other malt-based beverages– Most beers are made with barley or wheat. There are some certified gluten-free varieties available though.
- Coffee and tea – Certain specialty coffees and herbal teas contain gluten.
- Coffee creamers – Sometimes brands contain additives or fillers that include wheat.
- Coffee substitutes – Brands like Roma and Pero use barley and rye.
- Probiotic drinks — Drinks like GoodBelly are made with barley malt.
Breakfast Items
- Cereal and granola – Believe it or not, many popular (non-wheat-based) cereal brands contain barley malt. (I'm lookin' at you, Kellogg's Corn Flakes, Frosted Flakes, and Rice Krispies!) Check out the generics of some of your favorites, as many (like Aldi's Millville crispy rice cereal) skip the barley.
- Oatmeal – Oats, while naturally gluten-free, are a highly cross-contact crop with wheat. This won't bother everyone with a gluten intolerance, but if you have celiac or an allergy, perhaps stick to certified gluten-free oats.
Lunch + Dinner Items
- Couscous — This one might seem obvious to some people, but in case you didn't know, couscous is a type of pasta, not a grain. Don't get it confused with quinoa!
- French fries – Whether they're from a restaurant or the grocery store freezer section, French fries aren't always gluten-free. Many restaurants use a shared fryer with foods containing gluten, and many packaged varieties are made with wheat flour. Watch out for terms like "battered", "crunchy" and "seasoned" as that's likely a sign your fries aren't just potatoes. Check out this guide I put together to help you navigate which fast-food fries are gluten-free and vegan-friendly!
- Meat substitutes – The world of vegetarian and vegan meat substitutes is ever-expanding, but many use gluten as a base ingredient. Brands like Morningstar and Gardein are almost exclusively made with gluten, and seitan is made directly from vital wheat gluten. Other brands, including Beyond and Dr. Praeger's, create some gluten-free products though, so there are some safe-to-eat options.
- Rice pilaf – Store-bought and restaurant rice pilaf almost always contain orzo, a small wheat-based pasta. However, you can make a gluten-free version at home using gluten-free orzo from brands like Jovial.
- Soups and gravies – Creamy soups and gravies are often thickened using a flour-based roux. Some bouillons and flavorings used in soups contain gluten as well.
Pantry Staples
- Brewer's yeast – Most brewer's yeast is a byproduct of beer, so it won't be gluten-free unless the label explicitly says otherwise.
- Marinades and BBQ sauce – These can often contain malt vinegar, soy sauce, or even flour.
- Nonstick cooking spray – Certain varieties, like Pam Baking Spray, include wheat.
- Salad dressings – Be sure to check for malt, soy sauce, or flour the next time you reach for your favorite dressing, dip, or sauce.
- Seasoning blends – Items like taco seasoning are sometimes made with wheat flour, wheat starch, or hydrolyzed wheat protein.
- Soy sauce, teriyaki, and other sauces – These often contain wheat or barley. If you're looking for a naturally gluten-free alternative to soy sauce, try liquid aminos or tamari.
- Yeast extract – This one is tricky because yeast extract is typically made from either barley or sugar beets. Brands aren't required to list the yeast extract's source in the ingredients, so it's generally wise to avoid it. If the product is labeled gluten-free, it's usually a safer bet that it was made using sugar beets.
Tip: If a product lists "natural flavors" as an ingredient, but that product isn't certified-gluten-free, there's a chance those flavors are sourced from barley.
Sweets + Snacks
- Chocolate – Sometimes chocolate (even many vegan chocolate varieties) contains gluten. Whether it's from an additive, barley malt powder, or wheat flour, it's always best to read the ingredients.
- Granola bars – Some granola bars contain wheat or barley malt, and most contain oats. Again, if you're sensitive to oats, avoid products that aren't certified gluten-free.
- Gum – Most chewing and bubble gum is okay to chew, but some do contain gluten.
- Licorice – This one is sad, because I used to LOVE Twizzlers, but nearly all licorice is made with wheat. There are a couple of gluten-free brands on the market, but I don't think any of them have reached the mark yet.
- Potato chips – This one can be frustrating because when you think of potato chips the first thing that comes to mind is probably potatoes (as it should be!). However, some potato chip seasonings contain malt vinegar or wheat starch. Steer clear of Pringles and get in the habit of regularly checking other brands, especially flavors like barbecue and salt + vinegar.
Hidden Gluten in Non-Food Items
- Chapstick, lip balm, and other cosmetics for your lips – While you're not technically ingesting chapstick and other lip products, they can still cause a reaction for people with a more severe gluten intolerance.
- Hand sanitizer – Some hand sanitizers aren't gluten-free. For instance, I recently learned the hard way that Bath & Body Works pocketbac gel sanitizers contain gluten when I realized I was feeling a little unwell after using them before eating lunch at my day job. Their hand sanitizer sprays are gluten-free, though!
- Play-Doh – This one is especially important to know if you have a gluten-intolerant child in your life.
- Medications – It's important to inform your healthcare providers about your food intolerances, as some prescription medications contain gluten.
- Other cosmetics – While gluten isn't absorbed through the skin and you aren't likely to get products like blush, mascara, eyeshadow, or foundation in your mouth, some people can still get hives, puffy eyelids, or a rash from cosmetics that contain gluten.
- Toothpaste – Many toothpastes are gluten-free, but some do contain gluten, so double-check your preferred toothpaste brand.
- Vitamins and supplements – Like prescription medications, vitamins and supplements may contain gluten as a filler or binder ingredient. It's important to make sure they're gluten-free before taking them.
Avoiding Hidden Gluten in Your Daily Life
The best way to avoid accidentally glutening yourself is by getting veryyy comfortable with reading product ingredients and asking questions at restaurants.
It might feel a bit unfamiliar at first, but it's important to do whatever it takes to stay healthy. Just know, life does get easier, and pretty soon finding all of the not-so-obvious, hidden sources of gluten like it's nothing!
Tip: In the United States, ingredient labels are only required to list when an item contains wheat. However, if you don't see a warning for wheat, it doesn't mean the product is gluten-free – if only things were that straightforward! In addition to barley and rye, words like "malt", "einkorn", "udon", "faro", "semolina" and "graham" are a few more hidden gluten-based ingredients to look for.
Comments
No Comments